56th Mining Safety Week Celebration

Mining Safety Week Observation by OMC

56th Annual Mines Safety Week  Celebration – 2018 by OMC (Odisha Mining Corporation)  and EZMA (Eastern Zone Mining Association) organized at Orissa School of Mining Engineering (OSME) Keonjhar on 8th Dec. 2018.

The mammoth Event turned out to be a success with excellence for us in which, we were imparted with the opportunity to align such grand occasion which includes the hospitality of more than 3000 participants and dignitaries from 44 Mines across the state.

The 56th Annual Mines Safety Week Final Day Celebration- 2018 event was held under the aegis of Director General Mines Safety (DGMS) – Chaibasa region at Odisha School of Mining Engineering (OSME) ground on 8th Dec. 2018. This year the event was hosted by Odisha Mining Corporation Ltd. (A Gold Category State PSU), Govt. of Odisha.
Dignitaries of the Event.

The function was graced by Chief Guest Sri. P.K. Sarkar, Director General of Mines Safety (DGMS)- Dhanbad and Guest of Honor Sri. Satish Kumar, Dy. DGMS, SEZ- Ranchi. Other guest were Sri. Supriyo Chakrabarty, DMS- Chaibasa & Chairman AMSWCC- 2018, Sri. Anand Agarwal, Director Mine Safety (Elect.), Sri. Saket Bharati, DDMS, Chaibasa, Sri. A.K. Yadav, DDMS (Mech.), Sri. R.L. Mohanty, President EZMA & VP FIMI, Sri. R.N. Praharaj, Director (P&P) – OMC Ltd. & Vice Chairman, AMSWCC- 2018 and Sri. P.K. Sahoo, Regional Manager- OMC Ltd. & Secy, AMSWCC- 2018.

Deliberation by Chief Guest – PK Sarkar, Director General Mines Safety, Dhanbad

Director General Mines Safety, Dhanbad, PK Sarkar who was the chief guest on the occasion told that safety measures should be always updated and innovative instead of depending on the traditional methods. He further emphasized on to focus on the safety of workers engaged by the contractors and there socio- economic development.

DGMS Sri. P.K. Sarkar felicitated Sri. M.D Rustogi for life- time achievement in mining sector. Prizes & trophies under different categories of safety were conferred to various individuals & mining establishments. Around 3500 participants and delegates of 83 mines of SAIL, Tata Steel, Rungta, OMC, MG Mohanty, Essel Mines, KJS Ahluwalia, Jindal Steel, Sirajudin & Co., KMC, MG Mohanty, SN Mohanty, Indranee pattneik, UCIL, KC Pradhan etc. participated in the programme. Souvenir & Safety Calendar were released by the Chief Guest & other dignitaries. Cultural dance programmes like Odishi, Sambalpuri, Gotipua & Sand Ani were also performed to entertain & enthrall the audience.